« All Blog Posts

Algae Foundation Announces Student Travel Grant Winners

With the 2014 Algae Biomass Summit coming to a close, there is no doubt that the algae industry has a promising future.

Prestigious keynote speakers like Dennis McGinn, Jonathan Male, Michael Breen and David Danielson as well as science and business leaders from the algae industry were in attendance, yet it is the enthusiasm and accomplishments of students showing that the algae industry will continue making advancements in the future.

Yesterday the Algae Foundation announced several travel grants that were awarded to graduate students for attending the Summit. This kind of assistance to young algae researchers is part of the the Algae Foundation’s core mission, which was formed to engage in and fund educational outreach, research, development and other activities.

Applicants for the Algae Biomass Summit 2014 Travel grant submitted an abstract and a letter of recommendation. Matt Carr, executive director of the ABO and the Algae Foundation, presented the $500 travel grants to the winners on stage at the Summit.

The Algae Biomass Summit 2014 Student Travel Grant winners are:

·      Lenny de Jaeger, AlgaePARC, Wageningen University

·      Javier Gimpel, University of California, San Diego

·      Alexander Zevin, Arizona State University

·      Mona Mirsiaghi, Colorado State University

·      Lisa Anderson, University of California, Davis

·      Elena Barbera, Universita Degli Studi de Padova

·      Tanya Sabharwal, University of Texas, Austin

 Congratulations to all of the winners!

Benefits of Membership

Joining ABO is the best way to become involved in this exciting industry, make new connections, and influence how algae can shape the future.
Members also benefit from:
  • A voice on ABO policy initiatives.
  • Access to members-only resources.
  • Discounted pricing to ABO events, and more!
Join Us