ALGAE Houston SONESTA GALLERIA OCT 20-22, 2024 BIOMASS SUMMIT

Sun, Oct. 20, 2024 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM Keynote and Plenary Panel Session: Key Updates and Opportunities for Collaboration Around the World

Location: Main Ballroom

Keynote Session: Updates from European Biomass Association

6:00 PM - 6:30 PM Location: Main Ballroom

Keynote Speaker: Dr. Carlos Unamunzaga, Executive Director, EABA

Plenary Panel Session: European Spotlight

6:30 PM - 7:30 PM Location: Main Ballroom

Moderator: John Benemann (MicroBio Engineers)

Panelists: Dr. Carlos Unamunzaga (Fitoplancton Marino), Josephine Pace (AlfaGreen Solutions),

Jean-Paul Cadoret (Algama Foods), Sander Hazewinkel (LGEM).

Mon, Oct. 21, 2024

7:30 AM - 8:00 AM Breakfast-Sponsored by Bioconnect Iowa

Location: Lobby outside Main Ballroom

8:00 AM - 8:10 AM Welcome and Opening Remarks

Location: Main Ballroom

8:10 AM - 10:00 AM Plenary 1: Keynote and Panel Session: The Role of Algae in Sustainable Aviation Fuels (SAF)

The Path Forward
Location: Main Ballroom

Plenary 1: SAF Keynote Session-Sustainable Aviation Fuels

8:10 AM - 8:40 AM Location: Main Ballroom

Keynote Speaker: Dr. Elvis Ebikade, Southwest Airlines

Plenary 1: SAF Panel Session-Sustainable Aviation Fuels

8:45 AM - 10:00 AM Location: Main Ballroom

Moderator: Louis Brown (Los Alamos National Laboratory)

Panelists: Dr. Shawn Starkenburg (Los Alamos National Laboratory), Oliver Fetzer (Viridos),

Kristine Klavers (EcoEngineers)

10:00 AM - 10:30 AM Energy Break-Sponsored by Greater Des Moines Partnership

Location: Exhibit Hall

10:30 AM - 12:15 PM Plenary 2: Keynote and Panel Session: Funding Overview

Location: Main Ballroom

Plenary 2: Keynote Session: Federal Funding Programs

10:30 AM - 11:00 AM Location: Main Ballroom

Keynote Speaker: Valerie Sarisky-Reed, DOE BETO Director

Plenary 2: Panel Session: Funding 101

11:00 AM - 12:15 PM Location: Main Ballroom Moderator: JD Geneser (UHY)

Panelists: Oliver Fetzer (Viridos), Kate Lyon (Dentons Davis Brown), Joe Lichtenberger (Crescive Capital),

Kaylee Williams (Innoventure Iowa)

12:15 PM - 1:15 PM Lunch

Location: Exhibit Hall















JENNINGS KALLEN ADVISORS





1:15 PM - 1:45 PM Powerhouse Keynote Session: Algae-Telling the Carbon Story-Challenges and Opportunities

Location: Main Ballroom

Keynote Speaker: Shashi Menon, CEO, EcoEngineers

1:45 PM - 3:15 PM Breakout Sessions 1-2: Meet the Industry

Location: Main Ballroom & Breakout Room 1

3:15 PM - 3:30 PM Energy Break- Sponsored by Denton Davis Brown

Location: Exhibit Hall

3:30 PM - 5:00 PM Breakout Sessions 3-4: Bioproducts

Location: Main Ballroom & Breakout Room 1

5:00 PM - 7:00 PM ABO Reception

Location: Exhibit Hall

Tue, Oct 22, 2024

7:30 AM - 8:00 AM Breakfast-Sponsored by UHY

Location: Exhibit Hall

8:00 AM - 9:15 AM Plenary 3-Keynote and Panel Session: Algae in Agriculture – Innovative and Sustainable

solutions to Feed the World

Location: Main Ballroom

Plenary 3-Keynote Session: Algae in Agriculture

8:00 AM - 8:20 AM

Keynote Speaker: Geoff Chapin CEO, Carbonwave
Plenary 3-Panel Session: Algae in Agriculture

8:20 AM - 9:15 AM Location: Main Ballroom

Moderator: Steve Brody (Bioconnect Iowa)

Panelists: Alexia Akbay (Symbrosia), Todd (NB03/Green Steam Algae), Jonah Parker (Myland),

Valerie Harmon (Harmon Consulting).

9:15 AM - 10:00 AM Plenary 4-The Algae Foundation –ATEC Workforce Development and Educating Students on

the Power of Algae

Location: Main Ballroom

Keynote Speaker: Ike Levine (The Algae Foundation)

10:00 AM - 10:30 AM Energy Break-Sponsored by Jennings Kallen Advisors

Location: Exhibit Hall

10:30 AM - 12:00 PM Breakout Session 5-6: Environmental Services

Location: Main Ballroom & Breakout Room 1

Lunch

12:00 PM - 1:00 PM Location: Exhibit Hall

Breakout Session 7-8: Strain Development

1:00 PM - 2:30 PM Location: Main Ballroom & Breakout Room 1

Plenary 5: Panel Session: Algae in Wastewater Treatment

Location: Main Ballroom

Moderator: Dr. Craig Just (University of Iowa)

Panelists: Dr. Martin Gross (Gross-Wen Technologies), Kevin McGraw, Dr. Dan Johnson (One Water, Inc.),

Ahren Britton (AlgaFilm Technologies).

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM Closing Happy Hour & Algae Awards

Location: Exhibit Hall



